Building as a Service : operating “intelligently” the Smart Building to optimize the comfort of life

Article published in the Spanish magazine Facility Management & Services (October 2021).

 

While businesses had become accustomed to viewing the digital and physical worlds as two separate domains in terms of applications, the IoT has shattered that separation and offered the ability to connect the two worlds on a massive scale.

 

Now, thanks to the IoT, our living environment is becoming a real ecosystem of services, which will evolve and be enriched over time in order to provide ever greater comfort to its occupants.

But to offer real services, it is not enough to multiply connected equipment. The data provided in real time by users, buildings and IT systems must be able to communicate with each other, be centrally controllable and be shared with all stakeholders.

Without this, how can you intelligently manage the cleanliness of the premises, the occupation of rooms, the reception of employees or the maintenance of equipment? How can we create and maintain a pleasant and healthy work environment, conducive to the well-being of its occupants? How to anticipate and solve non-quality problems before they occur?

These are the real challenges of tomorrow’s building.

“We created MoveWORK Flow to address these issues in a very pragmatic way”, explains Luc Bonnin, CTO of MoveWORK. “By standardizing and making companies’ business processes interact within an interoperable and collaborative platform, we offer an agile response and a common language to all the players in the service chain.”

The data collected is aggregated in a unified and open space that allows us to stop thinking in silos and effectively orchestrate interventions, as close as possible to the occupants’ needs.

In this context, interoperability is key.

 

 

 

“We have greatly enriched our ecosystem of technological partners in order to offer hundreds of sensors that contribute to more intelligent building operation and more efficient management of services,” explains Luc Bonnin.

Automatic detection of temperature, luminosity or presence, traceability of interventions, measurement of satisfaction are among the most common applications. Fully integrated into the MoveWORK Flow platform, these “Plug-and-Play” sensors have the advantage of being easily deployed in all types of private and public spaces. Their data allows the service providers to be in tune with the needs and real uses of the occupants.

 

“The maintenance of sanitary spaces alone represents a real challenge for companies. For an occupant, whether he is an employee of a company, a patient in a hospital, a passenger on a train or a customer in a hotel complex, it only takes a few minutes to judge the cleanliness of the premises and the quality of the hygiene services dedicated to him on a daily basis.”

To ensure that these areas benefit from a visible and efficient maintenance system that is constantly connected to the needs of users, the MoveWORK solution integrates innovative equipment that allows the cleaning and supply processes to be completely rethought (soap/paper dispensers, waste garbage cans, digital signage, service buttons, etc.). In real time, MoveWORK Flow users have a global and detailed view of all interventions performed by the agents. They are alerted even before consumable levels are low. They can understand the inefficiencies in their processes, optimize them and identify correlations that were previously invisible to them.

 

“With intelligent automation, MoveWORK Flow has a significant technological edge and opens the door to immense operational optimizations. The platform’s embedded automata guide organizations’ decision-making processes in real time and provide the ability to act and drive change in the right place at the right time.”

Thus, a certain number of actions can be optimized in order to make the building as autonomous as possible, by triggering, for example, the starting and switching off of lighting according to the luminosity or the occupation of a room. The urgent needs of the occupants are more quickly taken care of by sending an alert to the closest agent with the right equipment, rather than to the one initially planned.

 

“The strength of our solution lies in its ability to orchestrate interventions and interact with the environment to trigger optimized scenarios in terms of profitability, service quality and customer experience. It takes into account the constraints imposed by FM contracts (organizational resources, SLAs, handling of non-conformities) and places principals, service managers and occupants in a “win-win-win” relationship.”

 

For all companies offering services to occupants, this is an opportunity to reinvent their business model and to ensure real continuity and quality of service. Managers, freed from static and siloed processes, can fully and effectively play their role in imagining the applications and services of tomorrow: buildings in which users no longer have to reactively report failures or suffer the inconveniences, where control systems automatically adjust according to climatic parameters, where it is possible to know precisely when and where waste occurs in order to limit it to a strict minimum.

As for the occupants, they can finally become actors of their environment and enjoy a living and working environment that meets their expectations.

 

This is a real change of perspective for all those involved in “Building As A Service”. Facility Management, associated with Smart Building, will only have meaning and value if it commits itself durably to this path: serving people and placing them at the heart of the service dynamic.

Building as a Service : exploiter “intelligemment” le Smart Building pour optimiser le confort de vie

Article publié dans la revue espagnole Facility Management & Services (octobre 2021).

 

Alors que les entreprises s’étaient accoutumées à considérer le monde digital et le monde physique comme deux domaines distincts en termes d’applications, l’IoT a fait voler cette séparation en éclat et a offert la capacité de connecter les deux mondes à très grande échelle.
Désormais, grâce à l’IoT, notre environnement de vie est en passe de devenir un véritable écosystème de services, amenés à évoluer et à s’enrichir au fil du temps afin d’apporter toujours plus de confort à ses occupants. 

Mais pour offrir de vrais services, il ne suffit pas de multiplier les équipements connectés. Les données fournies en temps réel par les utilisateurs, les bâtiments et les systèmes informatiques doivent pouvoir communiquer ensemble, être pilotables de façon centralisée, être partagées avec toutes les parties prenantes.

Sans cela, comment prétendre piloter de façon intelligente la propreté des lieux, l’occupation des salles, l’accueil des collaborateurs ou encore la maintenance des équipements ? Comment créer et maintenir dans la durée un environnement de travail agréable et sain, propice au bien-être de ses occupants ? Comment anticiper et résoudre la non-qualité avant même qu’elle ne survienne?

Voilà les vrais enjeux du bâtiment de demain. 

C’est pour répondre à ces problématiques de façon très pragmatique que nous avons créé MoveWORK Flow, explique Luc Bonnin, CTO de MoveWORK. En uniformisant et en faisant interagir les processus métiers des entreprises au sein d’une plateforme interopérable et collaborative, nous offrons une réponse agile et un langage commun à tous les acteurs de la chaîne servicielle”.

Les données collectées sont agrégées dans un espace unifié et ouvert qui permet de ne plus penser en silos et d’orchestrer efficacement les interventions, au plus près des besoins des occupants. 

Dans ce contexte, l’interopérabilité est la clé.

 

 

 

Nous avons largement enrichi notre écosystème de partenaires technologiques afin de proposer des centaines de capteurs qui contribuent à une exploitation plus intelligente des bâtiments et à un pilotage plus performant des services” précise Luc Bonnin. 

Détection automatique de température, de luminosité ou de présence, traçabilité des interventions, mesure de la satisfaction font partie des applications les plus courantes. Totalement intégrés à la plateforme MoveWORK Flow, ces capteurs “Plug-and-Play” ont l’avantage de se déployer facilement dans tous types d’espaces privés et publics. Leurs données permettent aux acteurs du service d’être au diapason des besoins et des usages réels des occupants. 

 

L’entretien des espaces sanitaires représente à lui seul un vrai défi pour les entreprises. Pour un occupant, qu’il soit salarié d’une entreprise, patient dans un hôpital, passager d’un train ou client d’un complexe hôtelier, quelques minutes suffisent pour juger de la propreté des lieux et de la qualité des services d’hygiène qui lui sont dédiés au quotidien.” 

Pour que ces espaces bénéficient d’un entretien visible, performant et connecté en permanence aux besoins des utilisateurs, la solution MoveWORK intègre des équipements innovants qui permettent de repenser entièrement les processus de propreté et d’approvisionnement (distributeurs de savon/papier, poubelles, feuilles de passage digitales, boutons déclencheurs de services…). En temps réel, les utilisateurs de MoveWORK Flow disposent d’une vue globale et détaillée de l’ensemble des interventions réalisées par les agents. Ils sont alertés avant même que les niveaux de consommables soient en rupture. Ils peuvent comprendre les inefficacités dans leurs processus, les optimiser, identifier des corrélations qui leur étaient jusqu’alors invisibles. 

 

Grâce à l’automatisation intelligente, MoveWORK Flow dispose d’une avance technologique considérable et ouvre la porte à d’immenses optimisations d’exploitation. Les automates embarqués par la plateforme guident en temps réel les processus décisionnels des organisations et donnent la capacité d’agir et de conduire le changement au bon endroit et au bon moment”. 

Ainsi, un certain nombre d’actions peuvent être optimisées de manière à rendre le bâtiment le plus autonome possible, en déclenchant par exemple le démarrage et l’extinction des éclairages en fonction de la luminosité ou de l’occupation d’une salle. Les besoins urgents des occupants sont quant à eux plus rapidement pris en charge par l’envoi d’une alerte à l’agent le plus proche et disposant du bon équipement, plutôt qu’à celui initialement prévu au planning.

 

Toute la force de notre solution réside dans sa capacité à orchestrer les interventions et à interagir avec l’environnement pour déclencher des scénarios optimisés en termes de rentabilité, de qualité de service et d’expérience client. Elle prend en compte les contraintes imposées par les contrats FM (ressources organisationnelles, SLA, traitement des non-conformités) et place les donneurs d’ordre, les gestionnaires de service et les occupants dans une relation “gagnant-gagnant-gagnant”. 

 

Pour toutes les sociétés qui proposent des services aux occupants, l’opportunité leur est donnée de réinventer leur modèle économique et de pouvoir assurer une réelle continuité et qualité de service. Les gestionnaires, débarrassés de process statiques et silotés, peuvent jouer pleinement et efficacement leur rôle en imaginant les applications et les services de demain : des bâtiments dans lesquels les utilisateurs n’ont plus à signaler de façon réactive les défaillances ni à en subir les désagréments, où les systèmes de régulation s’ajustent automatiquement en fonction des paramètres climatiques, où l’on peut savoir précisément quand et où des gaspillages se produisent afin de les limiter à leur strict minimum.

Les occupants quant à eux peuvent enfin devenir acteurs de leur environnement et profiter d’un cadre de vie et de travail à la hauteur de leurs attentes.

 

C’est un véritable changement de regard qui s’opère pour tous les acteurs du “Building As A Service”. Le Facility Management, associé au Smart Building n’aura de sens et de valeur que s’il s’engage durablement dans cette voie : servir l’humain et le placer au cœur de la dynamique servicielle.